The two types of Mayor covering Bristol.

West of England Combined Authority Mayor

The West of England Combined Authority (WECA) was established in February 2017.

Dan Norris, of the Labour Party, was elected the WECA Mayor on Thursday 6 May 2021.

The WECA is made up of three local authorities:

  • Bristol
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • South Gloucestershire

North Somerset voted against the WECA.

The WECA makes decisions for the region about:

  • transport
  • housing
  • adult education and skills

These responsibilities have been moved away from Central Government, who will provide £30m a year towards the WECA.

The WECA will be led by the elected WECA Mayor (sometimes referred to as the Metro Mayor). Elections for the WECA Mayor will be held every four years.

Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor carries out ceremonial duties and chairs meetings, including the monthly full council meeting. The Lord Mayor is a serving councillor and is elected by the other councillors.  

Each Lord Mayor serves for one year. After this they usually become the Deputy Lord Mayor.

Mayor of Bristol

Bristol had a Mayor until May 2024