Find out about the devolution deal and the West of England Combined Authority.

Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol and South Gloucestershire councils voted to proceed with a devolution deal. 

As a result, the West of England Combined Authority was established in February 2017.

Through the Combined Authority, more decisions will be made locally on areas such as transport, housing and skills. Previously these decisions have been made by central government in London. 

The three councils will continue to control delivery of frontline services to their residents.

The Combined Authority members are:

  • Dan Norris, West of England Metro Mayor
  • Councillor Kevin Guy, Leader of Bath and North East Somerset Council 
  • Councillor Tony Dyer, Leader of Bristol City Council
  • Councillor Ian Boulton, Co-Leader of South Gloucestershire Council

The Combined Authority is chaired by the West of England Metro Mayor.

The West of England Combined Authority will also work with partners including North Somerset Council and the business community to deliver economic growth for the wider region.

For more information see the The West of England Combined Authority website.

An election for the West of England Mayor was held on Thursday 4 May 2021.