How places will be allocated for 2022 to 2023 school applications.

School admission arrangements explain how school places are allocated if a school gets more applications than places available.

Bristol local authority set the admission arrangements for all community and voluntary controlled schools in the city.

For academies, foundation schools and voluntary-aided schools each school’s governing body or academy trust are the admission authority and has the responsibility to determine their admission arrangements.  

Determined admissions arrangements for 2022/2023

Bristol local authority’s determined admission arrangements only apply to community and voluntary controlled schools in the city.

To read the determined admission arrangements for a neighbouring Local Authority or for a school that is not in Bristol see that Local Authority’s website. 

Infant and primary schools who will be using Bristol local authority admission arrangements for 2022/2023

The following schools will be using Bristol local authority’s determined admissions arrangements.  

Air Balloon Hill Primary
Ashley Down Primary
Ashton Gate Primary
Avonmouth CE Primary
Bishop Road Primary
Blaise Primary & Nursery
Brentry Primary
Bridge Farm Primary
Brunel Field Primary
Cabot Primary
Chester Park Infants
Fair Furlong Primary
Glenfrome Primary
Hannah More Primary
Henleaze Infants
Hillcrest Primary
Holymead Primary
Horfield CE VC Primary
Knowle Park Primary
Nova Primary
Sea Mills Primary
Sefton Park Infant
Shirehampton Primary
Southville Primary
St Barnabas CE VC Primary
St John's Primary
St Peter's CE Primary
Summerhill Infant
Two Mile Hill Primary
Upper Horfield Community
Whitehall Primary
Willow Park

Bristol local authority admission arrangement documents 

Infant and primary schools who will be determining their own admissions arrangements for 2022/2023

The following infant and primary schools determine their own admissions arrangements.  Visit the school’s own website for or more information.

Ashton Vale Primary
Avanti Gardens Academy Bristol
Badock's Wood  E-ACT Academy
Bannerman Road Community Academy
Barton Hill Academy
Begbrook Primary Academy
Bridge Learning Campus
Broomhill Infants
Cathedral Primary
Cheddar Grove Primary
Christ Church CE Primary
Compass Point South Street
Cotham Garden Primary
Easton CE Academy
Elmlea Infants
Evergreen Primary Academy
Fairlawn Primary
Filton Avenue Primary
Fishponds Academy
Fonthill Primary
Four Acres Academy
Frome Vale Academy
Greenfield E-ACT Primary Academy
Hareclive E-ACT Academy
Headley Park Primary
Henbury Court Primary Academy
Henleaze Junior
Holy Cross RC Primary
Hotwells Primary
Ilminster Avenue E-ACT Academy
Little Mead Primary Academy
Luckwell Primary
May Park Primary
Merchants' Academy
Minerva Primary Academy
Oasis Academy Bank Leaze
Oasis Academy Connaught
Oasis Academy Long Cross
Oasis Academy Marksbury Road
Oasis Academy New Oak
Our Lady of the Rosary Primary
Parson Street Primary
Perry Court E-ACT Academy
Redfield Educate Together Primary Academy
School of Christ the King
SS. Peter & Paul RC Primary
St Anne's Infants'
St Bernadette Catholic Primary
St Bernard's Catholic Primary
St Bonaventure's Catholic Primary
St Joseph's Catholic Primary
St Mary Redcliffe Primary
St Nicholas of Tolentine VA Primary
St Patrick's Catholic Primary
St Teresa's Catholic Primary
St Ursula's E-ACT Academy
St Werburgh's Primary
Stoke Bishop CE Primary
Stoke Park Primary
Summerhill Academy
The Dolphin
The Kingfisher
Victoria Park Primary
Wansdyke Academy
Waycroft Academy
West Town Lane Academy
Westbury Park
Westbury-on-Trym CE Academy
Wicklea Academy
Woodlands Academy

Secondary schools determining their own admissions arrangements

The following secondary schools determine their own admissions arrangements.  Visit the school’s own website for or more information.

Ashton Park School
Bedminster Down School
Bridge Learning Campus
Bristol Brunel Academy
Bristol Cathedral Choir School
Bristol Free School
Bristol Metropolitan Academy
City Academy
Cotham School
CST Trinity Academy
Fairfield High School
Blaise High School
Merchants Academy
Montpelier High School 
Oasis Academy Brightstowe
Oasis Academy Brislington
Oasis Academy John Williams
Orchard School
Redland Green
St Bede’s Catholic College
St Bernadette’s Catholic Secondary School
St Mary Redcliffe and Temple School

Coordinated schemes for admissions 2022/2023

Bristol local authority are also responsible for setting the co-ordinated schemes that are used to administer the admissions process for primary and secondary schools. This is as well as in year applications for participating schools.

This includes:

  • Setting the timetable for applications
  • providing the common application form
  • taking applications
  • allocating places
  • sending out offers of a school place
  • appeal hearings

Coordinated scheme documents: