Different types of elections and when they're held

Everyone in the Bristol City Council area is represented by:

  • one, two or three councillors depending on the size of the ward they live in 
  • the Combined Authority (WECA) mayor
  • the Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) for Avon and Somerset
  • a Member of Parliament (MP)

Find out what elections you're eligible to vote in

Dates of elections 

Type of electionLast electionNext scheduled election
Local elections 2 May 2024 To be confirmed
PCC election 2 May 2024 To be confirmed
WECA mayor 6 May 2021 1 May 2025
General election 12 December 2019 4 July 2024

Types of elections

Local elections

Local elections are held once every four years on the first Thursday of May using the first past the post system. Most of the wards within Bristol are multi-member wards.
There could also be an election known as a by-election in a specific area if a councillor needs to be replaced.

In a local election you're voting to elect councillors of Bristol who will represent your views for the wards, or area, where you live.

There are:

  • 34 electoral wards in Bristol
  • 70 elected councillors

Find your ward and councillor.

West of England Combined Authority Mayor election

The West of England Combined Authority (WECA) was established in February 2017.

The WECA is led by the elected WECA Mayor (sometimes referred to as the Metro Mayor).

Elections for the WECA Mayor are held every four years on the first Thursday of May.

Dan Norris (Labour Party) was elected as the new West of England Combined Authority Mayor on Saturday 8 May 2021.

Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) for Avon and Somerset election

Police and Crime Commissioner elections are held every four years on the first Thursday of May.

Clare Moody (Labour and Co-operative Party) was elected as Police and Crime Commissioner of the Avon and Somerset Police area on Friday 3 May 2024.

Find out about the role of the PCC on the Association of Police and Crime Commissioners website

UK Parliamentary (General) elections

UK Parliamentary General election was held in Bristol on Thursday 12 December 2019.

In general elections, you elect somebody to represent you in Parliament, as a Member of Parliament (MP), in a parliamentary constituency.

Bristol City Council area currently has four constituencies:

  • Bristol East
  • Bristol North West
  • Bristol South
  • Bristol West

In 2024 this will change to five constituencies:

  • Bristol Central
  • Bristol East
  • Bristol North East
  • Bristol North West
  • Bristol South

See the MPs details for Bristol constituencies.

Visit the UK parliament website for information about the role of MPS and the work of parliament.


A referendum is a vote by the electorate on a single question.

There are both national and local referendums held.

Business Improvement Districts (BIDs) ballots

Business Improvement Districts (BIDs) are partnerships set up to improve particular commercial areas.

Businesses in the area can take part in a ballot to choose whether to pay a percentage of their rateable value on top of their business rates to fund projects which benefit local businesses.

For information, results of BID votes and notices of BID ballots for current or recent BIDs visit our business improvement districts page

Contact information

Electoral services

Electoral Services
Bristol City Council
B Bond Warehouse (5th Floor)
Smeaton Road
Bristol BS1 6XN

Email: electoral.services@bristol.gov.uk
Tel: 0117 922 3400

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday, 9am to 5pm
Friday, 9am to 4.30pm