Which Bristol wards are in each area committee and what they do

What is an area committee

Bristol has nine area committees who make decisions on how local funds are spent to support improvements in their area. Area committees are made up of the local councillors.

Area committees make their decisions based on the knowledge they have of their community. They meet once a year, with an option for a second meeting if needed. 

Which wards are in Bristol's area committees

All Bristol wards fall into one of the nine area committees.

A ward is an area of the city such as Avonmouth, Bedminster or Redland. 

  • Area Committee 1: Avonmouth and Lawrence Weston, Henbury and Brentry, Southmead and Horfield
  • Area Committee 2: Stoke Bishop, Westbury on Trym and Henleaze, Redland and Bishopston and Ashley Down
  • Area Committee 3: Clifton, Clifton Down, Cotham and Hotwells and Harbourside
  • Area Committee 4: Central, Ashley, Lawrence Hill and Easton
  • Area Committee 5: Lockleaze, Eastville, Hillfields and Frome Vale
  • Area Committee 6: St George West, St George Central and St George Troopers Hill
  • Area Committee 7: Southville, Bedminster, Windmill Hill and Filwood
  • Area Committee 8: Hartcliffe and Withywood, Bishopsworth and Hengrove and Whitchurch Park
  • Area Committee 9: Knowle, Stockwood, Brislington West and Brislington East

pdf Map of the area committee boundaries (1.63 MB)